The 2019 Rugby World Cup will be hosted in twelve locations throughout Japan:

Hokkaido Island

  • Sapporo City, Sapporo

Honshu Island

  • Kamaishi City, Iwate Prefecture

  • Kumagaya City, Saitama Prefecture

  • Tokyo City

  • Yokohama City, Kanazawa Prefecture

  • Shizuoka, Shizuoka Prefecture

  • Toyota City, Aichi Prefecture

  • Higashi-Osaka City, Osaka Prefecture

  • Kobe City

Kyushu Island

  • Fukuoka City, Fukuoka Prefecture

  • Kumamoto City, Kumamoto Prefecture

  • Oita Prefecture

The tournament will be held on three islands, involving twenty teams and forty eight matches.


Travel Tips

Depending on the time you have available, and your World Cup Travel ambitions, there are a few ways to approach the 2019 Rugby World Cup in Japan.

If you fly into Tokyo, you are within a very short distance to three of the RWC 2019 venues:

  • Tokyo Stadium

  • Kumagaya Rugby Stadium

  • International Stadium Yokohama

Collectively the three venues will host 10 Pool Stage Matches, 2 Semi Finals, 2 Quarter Finals the Bronze Runner Up Match and the World Cup Final which will be held at the International Stadium Yokohama at 18:00 on November 2nd 2019.

This action packed schedule makes Tokyo a great base for anyone travelling to the tournament independently. Yokohama was a rich history from colonial times and further back, Saitama is a spectacular outdoor region and Tokyo is still the largest metropolitan area in the world.

Japanese Rail (JR) Train travel times from Tokyo (Chiyoda) to Yokohama Station are 30 - 45 minutes

Japanese Rail (JR) Train Travel Times from Tokyo (Chiyoda) to Saitama-Shintoshin Station are 45 - 55 minutes

RWC 2019 World Cup Teams

RWC 2019 Team Pages

Click on the above links to view all fixtures for each team, match venues, and book accommodation close by your team or match location.

RWC 2019 Host Nation

The hosts Japan are pitched against the might of the Celts, having both Ireland and Scotland in their group. Japan will open the tournament with their first match against Russia, and will also now play Samoa who were the final qualifying team in Pool A.

One of the highly anticipated matches of the tournament takes place on Day 2, with title holders New Zealand taking on South Africa, also in Yokohama Stadium, on Saturday 21st September 2019.

Meanwhile in the tournaments most northerly stadium, the Sapporo Dome, Australia will open their campaign against Fiji on Saturday 21st September 2019.